Commission on a UK Bill of Rights: announcement and responses

An independent Commission to investigate the case for a UK Bill of Rights was launched by Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg and Secretary of State for Justice Kenneth Clarke on 18 March 2011.

The Commission, to be headed by former Permanent Secretary, Sir Leigh Lewis, fulfils a pledge set out in the Coalition Agreement.

In addition to the Chairman, the Commission will include eight human rights experts appointed jointly by the Prime Minister and the Deputy Prime Minister.

The Commission members are:

  • Martin Howe QC
  • Anthony Lester QC
  • Jonathan Fisher QC
  • Helena Kennedy QC
  • Anthony Speaight QC
  • Phillippe Sands QC
  • Michael Pinto-Duschinsky
  • Sir David Edward

Click here for Written Minsterial Statement

The Equality and Diversity Forum and other oganisations issued responses to the announcement:

Click here for Equality and Diversity Forum response

Click here for response from Liberty

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Posted in:


Related posts